Is it legal to sleep in your car?

Answer: Yes and no, depends on the state.

In most cases, it’s legal to sleep in your car in areas such as:

  • Rest stops
  • Campgrounds
  • Truck stops
  • Your own private property
  • Other private property when you have. permission

Some general rules that apply to sleeping in your car.

  • Don’t sleep while driving. Yes, this means you, Tesla full self-driving car owners. At least in 2023, this is not legal.
  • You are not drunk or under drug intoxication. Unless you are interested in getting a DUI, which yes can apply to people even if they aren’t currently driving.
  • No sleeping while the car keys are in the ignition.
  • You don’t park on private property unless authorized.
  • You are not doing anything suspicious. Like staking a joint out so you can rob it.

Here are some specific laws by state.

StateOvernight parking at rest stops?Sleeping in car laws
AlabamaNoNo parking on highways. You can be arrested for having control of a vehicle while intoxicated, even if the car isn’t moving. Banned in some cities.
AlaskaLaws do not specifyParking and sleeping in car laws vary by city
ArizonaYesVaries by city
ArkansasYes, for safety purposesVaries by city
California8-hour limit at rest stopsVaries by city
ColoradoNoVaries by city
ConnecticutNoVaries by city
Delaware4-hour limitVaries by city
Florida3-hour limitSome cities or counties ban sleeping in cars entirely.
GeorgiaNoVaries by city
Idaho10-hour limit
Illinois3-hour limit
IowaOne night only allowed under special circumstances, such as emergencies
KansasOne night only
Kentucky4-hour limit
Maryland3-hour limit
Michigan4-hour limit
Minnesota4-hour limit
Nebraska10-hour limit
Nevada24-hour limit
New Hampshire4-hour limit
New JerseyYes
New Mexico24-hour limit
New York3-hour limit
North Carolina4-hour limit
North DakotaYes
Ohio3-hour limit
Oregon12-hour limit
Pennsylvania2-hour limit
Rhode IslandYes
South CarolinaNo
South Dakota4-hour limit
Tennessee2-hour limit
Texas24-hour limit
UtahNot allowed overnight, extended stays are allowed at the police’s discretion
Washington8-hour limit
West VirginiaYes
WyomingYes, for those who need rest to drive safely

In general, it is legal to sleep in your car in most places, but there are some exceptions and local ordinances that you should be aware of. Here are a few things to consider:

  1. Parking laws: It is generally legal to park your car on a public street or in a designated parking lot for a short period of time. However, you should check local parking laws to make sure you are not violating any regulations, such as parking overnight in a residential area or parking in a spot designated for handicapped individuals.
  2. Public safety: It is generally safe to sleep in your car as long as you are in a secure location, such as a well-lit parking lot. However, you should exercise caution and be aware of your surroundings. It is generally not a good idea to sleep in your car in an area known to be a crime zone. But if I have to tell you that, you probably can’t read so this message isn’t for you. Maybe tell your dumbass cousin who can’t read.
  3. Local laws: Some cities and towns have laws that prohibit or restrict sleeping in your car. Do some research and look up the local laws to make sure you are not breaking the law by sleeping in your car.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts